VffAdmin
ROAD vol.9 Evacuees' Short Comments
by Voices from the Field Admin - Thursday, 30 August 2012, 07:43 AM

japanese

twitter

Read the prologue to the evacuees' comments listed below

Many people from different prefectures come here to help us and I appreciate their effort. Many evacuees are moving out from the evacuation centers. Some of them leave before we even get to know their names. (Woman in her 30s, Ishinomaki, March 13, 2011)

I am a city officer from Edogawa-ku in Tokyo.Our office sends 25 staff members at a time on weekly rotations. We stay in a place about one hour from here. We have to come over the mountain so it’s not easy. We stay at the Disaster Prevention Center every other night. We can only take a bath every two to three days, so I really appreciate this foot bath – it feels good! In Edogawa-ku there are about 4000 public employees and that means it has the 4th largest number of public employees in the Tokyo area. I am trying to contact whomever I can and am asking everybody I know to come here to help. My wife and children encourage me to come out here as well. (Man in his 40s, Kesennuma, May 21, 2011)

I serve coffee and other drinks in the tea lounge and listen to other evacuees’ stories. Are you using tap water for this foot bath? I am using tap water to make coffee, too, but it smells of chlorine. I have started to smoke since I came here. It’s to facilitate communication, to get people to talk to me. I haven’t received permission to make a temporary visit to my home (to collect my belongings). I went back to my house a few times before it was restricted. I have visited this foot bath about three times now. (Man in his 50s, Koriyama City, May 21, 2011)

It’s the first time for me to receive a foot bath, though I have given it to others. (Man in his 20s, Kesennuma, June 5, 2012)